top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlonde Bombshell

Busy Bunny

Since I was a teeny child, I always wanted a bunny. To be precise: a black bunny. Now I have two!




Let me tell you why my parents never gave me a bunny. Because:


1. Dogs. They like to eat the bunnies. Except for Pixel, our brown Miniature Doberman Pincher.

2. It really is a lot of hard work and responsibility.

3. They bite.


On the 23rd November 2018 a colleague of mine asked if I would look after a bunny for the weekend. I phoned my then Fiance and asked him - well I pleaded for life and death because it was a tiny ball of black bunny! The pleading worked and we went home. I put the box on the bed and peered a little scared and a lot of excitement at the tiny bundle.


I slowly put my hands in, trying to pick him up and he growled at me! I had such a fright. I told him very gently that both of us will be taking a nap, then we would try again. I sent my fiance a messages, explaining what happended. He told me that I should just show the tiny bundle who's boss. We rather took a nap.


One hour later, I tried again. I showed him who's boss. As I held the tiny creature in my hands, I marveled at how fine he was created. Tiny ears and feet and soft as silk. I could not stop caressing him. I gave him a blanket and we began exploring. He was then 3 weeks old.




I took this picture, sent it to my fiance. The message I received back : " Die koeël is deur die kerk". Meaning: What's done is done. He knew then that I would be keeping the bunny.

This happened on a Friday.


By Sunday I was pleading for dear life to keep this tiny bundle of goodness. In tears yet again, I couldn't give him back. I reasoned that I have treated him like royalty and that he wouldn't cope at his new owner (who was in the hospital). What if he had to stay in an outside cage? He was an indoor bunny now... Free roaming, except for sleeping time.


We ordered a cage for him and we named him: Binky. I got some treats for him and so the bond between lady and bunny started. Also... he doesn't have a cage anymore - he's free roaming.




I would not wish it was any different. Bunnies are hard work and they need the more care than dogs. They are very fragile and sensitive. Think carefully before you get one.


Xx Blonde Bombshell - Not!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Care bag

After nine weeks of staying home during the lockdown, I'm finally packing my self care bag! I have been trying my best with self care, especially during lockdown. I am bracing myself for the new chang

Confession: Fixer upper!

We bought a 5 bedroom fixer upper house in Feburary 2019. Sigh... I thought the fixing would be quick and we'd be living our happily ever after quite soon. Gosh, I was wrong! Our new house has so much

bottom of page