top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlonde Bombshell

Confession: Fixer upper!

We bought a 5 bedroom fixer upper house in Feburary 2019. Sigh... I thought the fixing would be quick and we'd be living our happily ever after quite soon. Gosh, I was wrong!


Our new house has so much potential to become a true dream house, with a helping of planning, heaps of work and unlimited love.


It has got so much space, for all the pets, kids to come and ofcoarse, the two of us. I even have my own art studio. I have so much to be grateful for.


The previous owners was from a previous era... everything is old. With old things come a different set of standars. Everything was taken care of and of coarse: built to last a lifetime!


In the process of modernizing and removing the old and bringing in the new, we found some things that's quite peculiar in times like this. For example newspaper clippings from previous dekades: underneath the carpets. Minds used to make things that did not exist in our times and still lasted well into the year 2020 - when we removed it.


As soon as something in the house is 'modernized', another item breaks. One step forward, two steps back. This made me feel defeated and sometimes overwhelmed, especially while planning a wedding with its own set of problems.


My patience has a short fuse. I am one of those who wants to get things done at the speed of light. I didn't reckon in the extras. The extra time and money that needed to be given and still needs to give, had me on a downward spiraling journey. What have we done?


After thinking and sleeping on it for many many days, weeks and months, I came to the conclusion that I am no quitter. We took on this project we prayed for and now I want to package it all up and say: "No thank you, Lord. I don't want this anymore". After that awakening revelation, my goals became clear again and a new breath.


Now, during lockdown, we are taking out all the stops and using as much time and resources to make our home better.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Care bag

After nine weeks of staying home during the lockdown, I'm finally packing my self care bag! I have been trying my best with self care, especially during lockdown. I am bracing myself for the new chang

bottom of page