top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlonde Bombshell

Confession: Wedding planning and chasing lions.


It’s definitely easier to pretend that everything is perfect in your life and that there isn’t a drop of fault to find. It’s also easy to say that nothing it wrong and everything is perfect. To say time and time again “no, thank you. I don’t need any help”, when in fact, you need it. Damn pride! Now see, that’s where the confessions come in.


No, I am not going to tell you about my sins… well not all of them.


Wedding planning is as easy as chasing a lion through the Sahara with nothing but your incredible Maybeline ink crayon – own your empire. The lion will eat you and use the lipstick as a toothpick. It is not every bride’s beautiful time of their lives – well not the planning part of it! I used to think that brides that hired wedding planners were lazy. I now understand 100% why they excist. Karma already spoke to me about my judgement, she left me a little gift(s). Well I think it was Karma… maybe Modjadji (That’s a whole other adventure… naughty adventure).


Use a wedding planner or don’t. It’s up to you. I did not like it one bit. I loved planning my dress and that was it. Deciding on whether to use material napkins or cloth… Half of the wedding party won’t use it. Yes, it contributes to the beautiful décor, but thinking about it now, I shouldn’t have spent so much time on it. Or the décor. Half of it is broken afterwards and the other half sitting on the shelf of shame – not being used again.


I planned everything to the T, but in the end, it went by in a whirl. One moment I was enjoying my cup of tea, the next minute we were married! I promise you, the time literally went by in a whirl. There is just one thing to remember if you are busy planning a wedding, is all about you and your fiancé. Nobody else. Not the caterer, photographer or even the in laws. It’s all about the two of you. Be selfish.


I do have one big regret and I wished we knew that we were going to elope. I would plan it differently and gotten married a year earlier. We waited for peak season in Thailand for our honeymoon and guess what? Karma gave me a little gift – 2 postponed honeymoons, ha! Or Modjadji? Later about the brilliant honeymoons…


So here is my confession. I planned our wedding for more than a year and I nearly went insane with all the stress. I was concerned about what would the guests say about the décor, the types of food… everything. The day we announced that the wedding was off, I breathed for the first time in months. Mount Everest climbed off my back and I literally felt alive. The worry disappeared and I slept like a baby. I felt sorry for the guests that couldn’t attend, but we had our reasons. Our happiness came first. It was our wedding, not theirs.

I wish that I could have avoided all that stress.


Our unique elopement was the best day of our lives. I would’t change a thing about that special day. Remember, you have the right to be selfish about your wedding! So stop chasing lions!


Xx Blonde Bombshell – Not!

Ps. I borrowed this cute picture from Pinterest!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Care bag

After nine weeks of staying home during the lockdown, I'm finally packing my self care bag! I have been trying my best with self care, especially during lockdown. I am bracing myself for the new chang

Confession: Fixer upper!

We bought a 5 bedroom fixer upper house in Feburary 2019. Sigh... I thought the fixing would be quick and we'd be living our happily ever after quite soon. Gosh, I was wrong! Our new house has so much

bottom of page