top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlonde Bombshell

Twenty Five

25. Five fives. Five and twenty. The square of five. 25 Years young... in this case, the glass is half empty.




I don't feel like an adult! I feel like a teenager trapped in an adult body. Our bond, cars and furniture does not make us feel more adult. The crowsfeet under my eyes makes me feel a little more than adult! Hallo, moisturizer!


What a birthday it has been! I coloured my hair blue... well some of it. Did some make-up, first time in more than a month and started pouring champagne.


Since childhood I wanted my birthday to be special. To be an extraordinary day - one of the 365 days, in this case, 366 as it is leapyear.


This year I wanted a unicorncake! Cue the teenager. A little more classy than a 6 year old's. Just to show that I have some adult in me. The day after my birthday, I realized that we never decorated the cake...


Ps. I borrowed this exciting picture from Pinterest!


Someone started the game of Jumanji and has not finished it. It's leapyear, there was a supermoon, corona virus, two cancelled honeymoons... need I say more?


I celebrated my quarter of a 100 at home during lockdown. I spent it at home the same way as our honeymoon - só exciting!


We had cake, snacks and pizza, but no friends or family to share it with. Telling me that we can celebrate after lockdown... it does not gel well with me. It won't be the same. Once lockdown is over... it will be all 58 million South Africans birthday. Phase 5 or Phase forever?


Luckily I had my wonderful husband with me, sentenced together at home. Grounded like teenagers in our adult bodies with two naughty toddler dogs and two bunnies. Well, it's not so bad afterall.


I did not have to invite the family I didn't want here, bonus!


So after my first grounded birthday, I'd say that it wasn't so bad. I drank champagne the entire day and nobody was here to judge me, except my darling husband...


So who ever started the game of Jumanji... finish it already!


Xx Blonde Bombshell - Not!




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Care bag

After nine weeks of staying home during the lockdown, I'm finally packing my self care bag! I have been trying my best with self care, especially during lockdown. I am bracing myself for the new chang

Confession: Fixer upper!

We bought a 5 bedroom fixer upper house in Feburary 2019. Sigh... I thought the fixing would be quick and we'd be living our happily ever after quite soon. Gosh, I was wrong! Our new house has so much

bottom of page