top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlonde Bombshell

Wedding planning adventure - part 2

We got a surprise the 1st of December. Our engagement party was held that day. Well we knew it

was the party, but we did not expect the amount of effort. It was beautiful. Of course I walked past it all, wanting to put the giant tub of ice-cream in the deep freeze. When I turned around, I saw it. My sister and mother had outdone themselves. Thank you so much!




It was also the day we had an impromptu photo shoot on the grass. I always laugh when there's a million photos being taken of me. It just isn't natural. What's also not natural, is some older in-laws making out in the dark corner as if they are teenagers. We all have strange beings in our families - we can choose our friends, but not our family. I am currently grinning. I badly want to write about that part of the party, but I need to keep it in. Otherwise I will make the current war: nuclear.


During the party I was worried about my new baby bunny at home. At our non-pet friendly apartment. That's a whole different writing adventure. I promise, I will write about him (them). He was home alone for the first time. I drank some more special punch and continued to party.


After the party, my mom gave me a special gift. She made a wedding planning book. Please note that one of the dogs helped planning while I was at work. They are the reason why we can't have nice things. I used the book a lot, it was more user friendly than the unused binder I got myself. I did use some of the color pens I bought. Also, a lot of planning was done without using it, because in the end we eloped. I will get to that, but not today.


After booking the venue, the first thing we did was to book a photographer. We couldn't afford the kings and queens of the photography realm... with one quote being R16 000 for the starting package. Nope. So we started looking and found a photographer for a decent price. The package included the engagement shoot as well, most of the photography packages includes this.


The problem with the venue being 156 kilometers away from home, was that we needed to pay vendor travel fees or get vendors from that area. I must say that is was strange dealing with small town people - they speak and act differently. Everything happens slower... Come on patience, I haven't got all day!


The photographer recommended the DJ, which gave us a brilliant package for a decent price. Of course, we did not use him, due to the elopement.


We booked the pastor, who's a friend of my dad. He's really funny. Especially during Krav Maga. He made a joke that we should get married in the dojo (place where karate is practiced). Perfect, then I can wear a white dress with my purple karate belt.


The pastor told us that he wanted to sit with us before the wedding. Someone at work told me that they do that to ask questions and that the engaged couple would take classes together. What questions? What classes? Where do I get the study material? Are we going to fail? I was stressed about it for more than a month. If overthinking had Olympics, I'd take gold.


The day of the test, I got some nice pastries to take to the pastor's house. To soften him up, so that we can pass this test. The stress and panic was futile. It went well. I still think we "passed". He asked some questions regarding the ceremony and lighting candles... what candles? Apparently that doing so is a symbol of two souls becoming one. Yes, do light some candles in the middle of the bush veld. Let the fireworks begin!


That night during the interrogation, the pastor told us that we had to get married twice. There must be a roof with a door during the ceremony, because we would be getting married in the bush veld. We agreed to do it after the wedding. Pastor joked that we can get married during the "interrogation". My prince said no, we needed rings. So we got married twice.


The checklist looked better and better. We had a venue, the photographer and the pastor. This was 4 months before the wedding. I was still relaxing, more than half way right? I Decided on wooden decorations for the wedding. My prince had to make it... he still needs to make it. We don't need to remind men every six months of the things they need to do. They will do it! Dear husband... please stop reading my blog. Ps. I still love you.











7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Care bag

After nine weeks of staying home during the lockdown, I'm finally packing my self care bag! I have been trying my best with self care, especially during lockdown. I am bracing myself for the new chang

Confession: Fixer upper!

We bought a 5 bedroom fixer upper house in Feburary 2019. Sigh... I thought the fixing would be quick and we'd be living our happily ever after quite soon. Gosh, I was wrong! Our new house has so much

bottom of page