top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBlonde Bombshell

Wild Buckaroo

The day we moved into our new home, we also saved a wild buckaroo.


Just imagine, the quietness of a new home, unpacked boxes everywhere, rooms full of the wrong furniture and a heavy electric thunderstorm outside. Then the cutest pet arrives:



My aunt and uncle asked if we wanted to adopt a 2 year old miniature doberman. They rescued him from a bushveld farm and then went to their house. His wild antics made their tea cup miniature doberman, desperate.


They brought him to our new home. Being alone with the 2 year old wild buckaroo for the first time... was eye opening. I pulled some bags into the main bedroom when he took one handle and helped pulling. How cute!



I rewarded him with some cuddles and the next thing I knew - he jumped on my back! I was in the process of picking up a box.


His name: China.




The next morning we woke up with China sleeping between us, and his very long legs poking into my darling's back. I took him outside to do his thing and began making coffee. China obviously found a squeaky toy outside, ran and hopped on top of my darling and started biting that squeaker at full speed.


Ding... ding... ding.. Wild buckaroo won the first round. The same day he removed one of the spare bedroom's carpet while we fetched our belongings from our old apartment. He thought that we would not be returning.


One stormy night, we had plans with friends to go to the movies and thought it would be a good idea to leave the dogs inside. We came home to a ruined couch... They removed all the stuffing of our beautiful Grafton Everest couches.


He also made sure that every single blanket we own, got a hole chewed in, just for him to have a poncho!


Ps. Poncho time!


He ate several carpets, curtains, glasses, sunglasses, tupperwear, socks, undies, shoes, stationary, wedding planner, flowers, birds, geckos etc. In a year's time, I can't remember everything that went between those pearly white teeth!


China was abused by his first owner, not by my aunt and uncle. They regularly lavish him with gifts and he's always happy to see them. To this day, we can't scold him if he is naughty, because of the abuse.


On a happier note, I phone the pet medical aid before I received China. The operator asked me what his name was and I happily replied: "China Dasher". At that stage, we thought we could rename him, but it never happened. My furbaby with a middel name.


The neighbors also got used to hearing "Come here, China!" and my favorite: "No, China, you're naughty!".


Ps. He ate his pink piggy in less than a day...


Binky our rabbit is also not one of his favorites. We learned to live with it!


We got him a little brother and it seems that it calmed him. Now we have a different problem... China's wild antics moved to his little brother!


Ps. China said he asked for a new stuffed toy, not a brother!


No matter how naughty our pets are, we will forever love them to bits!


Xx Blonde Bombshell - Not!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Care bag

After nine weeks of staying home during the lockdown, I'm finally packing my self care bag! I have been trying my best with self care, especially during lockdown. I am bracing myself for the new chang

Confession: Fixer upper!

We bought a 5 bedroom fixer upper house in Feburary 2019. Sigh... I thought the fixing would be quick and we'd be living our happily ever after quite soon. Gosh, I was wrong! Our new house has so much

bottom of page